Physikzentrum Bad Honnef
 Deutsch     English
The Venue



DPG Physics School 2008
supported by the Wilhelm and Else Heraeus - Foundation

14 - 19 September 2008, Physikzentrum Bad Honnef, Germany

Functional Nanostructures

Evelyn Hu, University of California, Santa Barbara, USA
Axel Lorke, University Duisburg-Essen, Germany

Operating on a length scale which is on the threshold between the macroscopic and the quantum world, nanostructures exhibit new and often surprising properties. One example is the quantized conduction in one-dimensional electron systems, which has fundamentally changed the way we think about resistance. The fact that many properties of nano-systems are determined by their shape and size gives them new and adjustable functionality, which can be used in electronics, optics and magnetism. Furthermore, we now realize, how cleverly nature makes use of nanoscopic building blocks for tailored functionality in biological systems.
The Physics School on Functional Nanostructures will bring together distinguished scientists from different areas of nanoscience and technology to discuss the state of the art and recent findings in their field of expertise. The School intends to give a broad overview of how far the field of nanoscience has come during the last decades and how physics, chemistry, biology and engineering work together to understand and realize new functionality on the nanoscale.

Invited Lecturers
  • David Awschalom, University of California, Santa Barbara, USA
    Spins in nanostructures
  • Antonio Badolato, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
    Quantum optics with a single quantum dot
  • Manfred Bayer, Universität Dortmund, Germany
    Coherent spin dynamics in quantum dots
  • Markus Büttiker, Université de Genève, Switzerland
    Linear and nonlinear conductance in mesoscopic structures
  • Cedrik Meier, Universität Duisburg-Essen, Germany
    Optics with nanostructures
  • Ki Tae Nam, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab, Berkeley, USA
    Multifunctional and biological scaffold for energy applications
  • Susumu Noda, Kyoto University, Japan
    Photonic crystals
  • Michael Pepper, University of Cambridge, UK
    Quantum transport in semiconductor nanostructures
  • Sotiris E. Pratsinis, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
    Large-scale flame aerosol synthesis of nanostructured particles and films for catalysts and gas sensors
  • Dirk Sander, Max-Planck-Institut, Halle, Germany
    Tunneling Magnetoresistance on a Single Nano-Island
  • Friedrich Simmel, TU München, Germany
    Biomolecular self-assembly and self-organization
  • Uri Sivan, Technion, Israel
    Functional Biomolecules
  • Hideaki Takayanagi, Tokyo University of Science, Japan
    Superconductor/Ferromagnetic-Semiconductor Junctions
  • Seigo Tarucha, University of Tokyo, Japan
    Spin and charge manipulation in quantum dots
  • Bart van Wees, University of Groningen, The Netherlands
    Spin transport in nanostructures
  • Uli Zeitler, Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands
    Carbon-based nanoelectronics

« back